Winners of the 2016 Forest Science Awards

12 October 2016

The winners of the Forest Owners Association 2016 Science Awards were announced in Napier earlier this month at the Forest Growers Research Conference.

steve pawson web   Steve Pawson from Scion, Communication and Sector Engagement. Steve has led the MBIE Market Access research – finding alternatives to methyl bromide fumigants.
robert hill web   Robert Hill from Lincoln Bio Protection, Innovation that Enhances Sector Value. (Receiving his award from FGLT Chair Geoff Thompson left) Robert has worked with Trichoderma fungi in particular for finding sustainable approaches to boosting tree growth and health.
euan mason web   Euan Mason from the School of Forestry, Science of International Quality. Euan is internationally recognised for his work which spans empirical and physiological hybrid growth modelling for practical applications.
ian hinton web   Ian Hinton from Timberlands, Research Participation and Implementation. Ian has been instrumental in the adoption of new technologies arising from R&D – including LiDAR, site assessment, inventory systems and productivity enhancements.
keiath raymond web   Keith Raymond from Future Forest Research, Contribution to a Science Team. Keith leads the steep land harvesting programme which is highly regarded and widely promoted by MPI and Government as an example of a Primary Growth Partnership success story.
brionny hooper web   Brionny Hooper from Scion – Young Scientist. Brionny has been a human factors scientist at Scion for the past 18 months developing customer engagement and identifying key issues for the industry.